Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Get your post indexed by Google quickly  (Read 113 times)
Scott

Get your post indexed by Google quickly
« on: July 31, 2008, 04:19:09 PM »

Hello all - I am new to the "blog flipping" world, having just set up a brand new one which I hope to either monetize or probably sell.  But, I have had my own blog for my computer consulting work for quite a while.  I discovered something pretty amazing not too long ago.  You guys probably already know about this but I thought it was cool.

Originally, I used mydomain.blogspot.com but a few months ago I decided I wanted to integrate my blog in with my own domain name site, so I had to decide if I wanted to continue using the blogger.com service, or make the switch to WordPress.  My webhost talked me into staying with Blogger, primarily because of its close ties with Google.  And I have seen this happen several times.

When I post a new blog article, it is usually indexed by Google within an hour or two.  Here's an example:

I posted on my blog about the new AVG, and what my recommendations were as far as upgrading, etc.  The topic was "AVG 8.0 - which version do you need?" (link goes to the post).

A couple of hours later I did a search on the phrase "Do I need the new avg?" (without the quotes) and I was #2 on Google for that search.  I am currently at #3 for that search and the only organic results ahead of me are AVG and Grisoft links (the manufacturers of that program).

I have done this several times, for several different post topics.  I continue to get organic traffic from Google because of it.

The downside is that the Blogger templates are not very configurable unless you really know the CSS to make the changes.  WordPress has all these great widgets that plug in and configure so easily.  So my new "flipper blog" is in WordPress because I want to learn how to use it.

That's all for now, looking forward to getting to know you all in the coming weeks and months.

Scott